What is style?

What is style?

According to the dictionary it is a particular way in which something is done, created, or performed. Fashion is defined as a popular way of dressing during a particular time or among a particular group of people. Your probably asking where am I going with this right? Coco Chanel summed it up nicely saying Style is what you do with fashion.

As someone that writes about fashion, works in fashion, and people watches, I am always amazed by peoples personal takes on fashion. I learned in one of my classes that there are levels such as innovators, leaders, masses, late adaptors and well those that just don’t care. With social media and that thing they call the internet I think that the lines between those groups have blurred a bit. So now styles from Paris hit stores in America in less than 3 mo (ballpark here). But what interests me is how fashion is so closely tied to our social standing and how we use it to leverage ourselves, and what others consider style. Am I making sense? I want to keep this short and sweet lol. I am always amused by how many labels people in urban areas wear versus people that live in a more affluent area. I see more LV’s, Gucci’s, MCM and various designer brands on my block in Brooklyn than on 5th Ave. And its all logo heavy items, to scream at you “look at me and what I label I’m wearing” and trust me when I say I live in the hood (like brownsville hood). I get that buy buying these “labels” maybe you feel like you belong and that suddenly luck will favor you. However I think the most stylish people are the ones that can effortlessly combine (non logo) products with reproduction or knockoffs. But a lot is also just confidence in yourself.

I found a great article about this and think you should read it. Comment and let me know your thoughts.

http://tressiemc.com/2013/10/29/the-logic-of-stupid-poor-people/

innovators

Leave a Reply

